Lady Ruby Sykes

Lady Ruby Sykes honoured at Director of the Year awards

Lady Ruby Sykes has been honoured with a Lifetime Achievement Award by the Institute of Directors (IoD).

The former High Sherriff of South Yorkshire has devoted much of her time to working for public organisations and charities. She is married to the renowned industrialist and former Master Cutler Sir Hugh Sykes.

Lady Sykes received the award at the culmination of the IoD Director of the Year awards for Yorkshire and the North East, held at the Principal York hotel.

The awards honour business leaders from the public, private and third sectors along with entrepreneurs of all ages and backgrounds.

Richard Harpin, founder and chief executive of national home assistance company Homeserve, received the Chairman’s Award for Excellence in Director and Board Practice. Harpin set up HomeServe in 1993. The business now has 8.4 million customers and a dedicated network of tradespeople.

Geoff Shepherd, managing director of iSource Group and founder of The Yorkshire Mafia, received the Judges’ Special Award. The Yorkshire Mafia organises the annual Buy Yorkshire, the North’s biggest annual B2B conference and exhibition, and Leeds Business Week. Geoff is also behind the charity Ho Ho Homeless.

Other winners included Global Director David Langworth of NM Group, Knaresborough; SME Director Sunny Sharma of Pet Brands, Leeds; and Start-Up Director Ben Barker of Artemis Brew, Womersley.

Guest speaker at the awards was Stephen Martin, director general of the IoD. The evening was compered by BBC Look North presenter Danni Hewson. The award winners now go forward to the national Director of the Year finals, where they will compete against winners from across the UK.

The full list of winners is: Global Director of the Year: David Langworth, NM Group SME company Director of the Year: Sunny Sharma, Pet Brands Family company Director of the Year: Naveen Ahmed, The Parklane Group Start-Up Director of the Year: Ben Barker, Artemis Brew New Director of the Year: Nicholas Oates, Fabricom Offshore Services Public / Third Sector Director of the Year: Simon Wallis, The Hepworth Wakefield Non-Exec Director of the Year: Jo Haigh, FDS Director Services Innovation Director of the Year: Professor Adam Beaumont, aql Inclusivity Director of the Year: Tracy Wray, The University of Sheffield Corporate Social Responsibility Director of the Year: Martin Port, BigChange Chairman’s Award for Excellence in Director and Board Practice: Richard Harpin, HomeServe plc Judges Special Award: Geoff Shepherd, iSource Group and The Yorkshire Mafia Lifetime Achievement: Lady Ruby Sykes

The judging panel was chaired by Simon Walton, managing partner at Berwick Partners/Odgers Berndtson, Leeds.

The awards partners are Leeds Business School; Leeds Beckett University’s Enterprise Services; Dine; Principal York; Cicada Communications; Forward Ladies; Topic UK; West Park Hotel, Harrogate; York Science Park; Frontroom; Thirst; Saville AV; Slingsby Gin; and Lupton Fawcett.

Our Partners

Join the discussion as a guest or using , or Google

Top Ten Most Read