John McLean

Member Article

Shortlist revealed for IoD Director of the Year Awards

The Institute of Directors (IoD) has revealed the names of the business leaders shortlisted for its prestigious Director of the Year Awards in London, the South and South West.

The awards celebrate leadership talent and success among directors ranging from young entrepreneurs to experienced chief executives, with finalists representing the spectrum of business and industry across the regions.

The Institute will unveil a short film showcasing the finalists and announcing the winners at 5pm on 11 November. The film will feature a guest speech from IoD chief economist Kitty Ussher.

IoD City of London Chair John McLean said: “Although the last 18 months have been very tough for businesses in London, we have seen through the Director of the Year nominations some superlative examples of how individual directors and their teams have risen to the challenges. Our IoD award winners have brilliantly demonstrated that the ‘blitz’ spirit of carrying on and never giving up is still alive in 2021.

“Covid has changed the styles of leadership required to be a successful leader which our nominees and award winners have aptly demonstrated, as they have passion, empathy, vision and an overall desire to look after their people.The Institute of Directors is proud that they represent everything the Institute stands for.”

The shortlist is:

Agility & Resilience

Carl Waterer - Howard Tenens (South West) Jason Danciger - Hana Group (London) Debbie Thorpe - Willow Well-being (South West) Danny Brooks MBE - Virtual Human Resources (London)

Equality & Diversity

Leigh Lafever-Ayer - Enterprise Holdings (Kent, South) Purnima Sen - Sparta Global (London) Julie Kapsalis - Coast to Capital LEP (Sussex, South)


Tushar Shah - 3Es Accountants (London) Laura McBrown - G&B Electronic Design (Surrey, South) Jacqueline O’Donovan - O’Donovan Waste Disposal (London)


Andrew Hookway - Extech Cloud (Sussex, South) Jitesh Patel - Peldon Rose (London) ViJay Luthra – Mission (Surrey, South)


Paul Robinson - Virtual Human Resources (London) Paul Knights - Produce Plus (Kent, South) Prem Barthasarathy – Pontaq (Kent, South)

Third & Public Sector

Dina Henry - CAF Bank (Kent, South) Lynsey Marshall - Crystal Palace Park Trust (London) Jon Sparkes - Crisis UK (London)

SME under £5m

Yash Dubal - A Y & J Solicitors (London) Paul Anthony Miller - Cornish Accounting Solutions (South West) Julianne Ponan - Creative Nature (Surrey, South) Sanjay Sah - Makesworth Accountants (London)

SME £5-50m

Derek Rodgers - Gardner Leader LLP (Berkshire, South) Jason Danciger - Hana Group UK (London) Richard Hopkins - Fargro (Sussex, South) Danny Brooks MBE - Virtual Human Resources (London)


Jo Warner - Equinox Rising (London) Susan Walsh - The Classification Guru (Surrey, South) Tom Gibbons - Nueco Group (London)


Jason Danciger - Hana Group UK (London) Mike Brown - Geo-Enviromental Services (Sussex, South) Sue Riddlestone – Bioregional (London)

The awards sponsors are Kreston Reeves, Smith & Williamson, Bristol Airport, UWE Bristol and Vistage.

This was posted in Bdaily's Members' News section by Richard Abbott .

Enjoy the read? Get Bdaily delivered.

Sign up to receive our popular morning London email for free.

* Occasional offers & updates from selected Bdaily partners

Our Partners

Top Ten Most Read